Finals Preparation

Yikes! Its here. The last month of the school year. The many things learned will now be cummulatively formatted into a test of some sort. Testing your ability to retain knowledge and your ability to apply that retained knowledge. As a student, I would dread finals preparation in high school and undergraduate school.

helloquence-61189-unsplash

Now however, maybe because I’ve taught and have been on the other side of finals, I do not dread them. My look at finals is making sure that I have properly organized my materials so that I may review and prepare accordingly, when I would prepare myself and students for finals I always suggested doing previous work tow or three times. This work may be classwork, homework, or lab work. Paying particular attention to concepts misunderstood.

Though the goal is to achieve a high grade and to retain as much book material as possible. It is also imperative to reflect on the beauty of the process. To reflect on the minor growths that made major breakthroughs. And to reflect on how what you’ve learned will open doors to the next chapter, or has exposed your mind to something new. Be sure to step back, and enjoy to journey of learning.

 

-Brandy

Share with us your thoughts :)